Applications for 2024 are possible at any time.

The Staatliche Institut für Musikforschung awards scholarships for research stays of one to three months. Priority is given to projects by foreign scholars that are related to the research priorities of the SIM.

Scholarships are awarded for the following main topics:

  • Organology
  • Performance practice
  • Music theory
  • Music technology
  • Music of the 19th and 20th centuries

Scholarship holders should be given the opportunity to establish specialist contacts with staff of the SIM and the other institutions of the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

The minimum requirement for an application is a first university degree at the time of application. The monthly stipend amounts to 1,300 € for applicants with a university degree, 1,600 € for academics with a doctorate or comparable qualification. In addition, a travel allowance up to a maximum of 500,- € can be granted.

The scholarships are awarded twice a year, with applications for an award in the second half of the same year to be submitted by 31 March of the current year; applications for an award in the first half of the following year to be submitted by 30 September of the current year.


The following application documents must be enclosed with an application:

  • a completed application form
  • a curriculum vitae
  • two letters of recommendation from academic teachers on the applicant's academic qualifications (in the case of graduate/doctoral applications)
  • a list of publications
  • copies of university transcripts and academic degree certificates
  • a detailed description of the project (maximum 10 pages: justification and objectives, method, bibliography. Preliminary work already carried out; cooperation with other academics).

A detailed compilation of all information on the scholarship programme of the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz can be found at Scholarship Programme SPK

Related links

Documents for download

November 2023

Lucia Maloveská

November 2023 bis Januar 2024

Dr. Moritz Kelber

April to July 2023

John Lam
Hong Kong

April to December 2022

January to March 2022

Dr. Marten Noorduin
University of Oxford

Fellows of other programs

EU program ERASMUS+
Stamatia Fourlemadi
1 October 2023 to 31 January 2024